web analytics

Marriage licenses issued in Minnesota, Rhode Island

Written by Bob Henline

The states of Minnesota and Rhode Island began issuing marriage certificates to same-sex couples today.   These states bring the total number of states that recognize the right of all people to love equally and be treated equally under the law to thirteen, including the District of Columbia.

Lambda Legal estimates that over 30% of the population of the United States lives in a state that either allows marriage equality or honors out-of-state marriages.

The following states now protect the freedom to marry:   California, Connecticut, Delaware, Iowa, Maine, Maryland, Minnesota, New Hampshire, New York, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Washington, plus the District of Columbia.

For a full breakdown of state laws regarding marriage, click HERE.

About the author

Bob Henline

Bob Henline is the Assistant Editor of QSalt Lake Magazine, as well as a columnist and social/political activist and amateur chef.

Leave a Comment